Gods of the Month: October

My devotional calendar is an organic thing that grows and changes, as I learn more about the Gods that I venerate. Since I follow a Roman-centric practice, I use many sources for Roman festivals (fasti). Starting with that basis, I work out the Gods of the Month. (Please note that I do not include all of the major festivals nor the temple observances. However, if there is interest, I can flesh this all out further.)

October is the month of my brain injury when The Wall fell on me. Anubis and Hekate came to me during my coma, and enlisted me to help with the Dead. During this month, I make offerings to these Gods.

October for me is a month of transitions and endings. It marks the end of the marching season for war. Meanwhile, welfare of the people are prayed for by offerings to springs and drinking the first wine for health.

MARS: In October, the Roman armies came home from the wars. They and their arms had to be purified, and Mars thanked for another campaign season. The final sacrifice to Mars for the season was the October Horse. The Armilustrium was the purification of the weapons and trumpets (tubae). At this time, I honor Mars and say prayers for veterans.

MANIA and DII MANES: The Opening of the Mundus (the Well to the Underworld) is conducted for the second time in the year. At this time, the Dead (Dii Manes) go amongst the living. I say prayers to Dii Manes and Mania, who is Guardian of the Underworld, to protect my family from the restless Dead.

MEDITRINA: The Meditrinalia, the Festival of First Wine, is held on October 11. Cups of new wine mixed with old wine is drunk to Meditrina, Goddess of the First Wine and Healing. She is the daughter of Aesculapis God of Healing, and the sister of Hygenia, Goddess of Health.

FONS: Fons, the God of Springs, is honored at the Fontinalia. I make offerings for clean water at a neighborhood stream.

ODIN: Because my Anglo-Saxon Ancestors wanted an altar to their Gods, I have observances for these Gods also. Winternights, the beginning of the winter and The Wild Hunt are in October. Odin (Woden) is a God of the Season, since the Wild Hunt starts at this time and continues through the winter.

Leave a Reply

