Hekate, Anubis, My Brain Injury, and Time

anubis-oracle-07148

Kris Waldherr

My perception of the Gods is that They exist in the Eternal Now. It is the nexus of all time – past, present, and future. It is also the state of “everything is everywhere and always” and “every point of space touches every point of time.” (1) We as humans create in our consciousness, the past, present and future. When the Gods reach out to people, it is not necessarily according to our perception of time. My experience of Anubis and Hekate, two Gods of the Dead, happened that way.

I met Hekate and Anubis together, three months before my life-changing accident. I regard being crushed nearly to death by a faultily constructed wall to be a random event. I do not subscribe to the belief that everything happens for a reason. I see the Universe to be random. I believe that the Gods, Spirits, and everyone else works out each occurrence for Themselves. In my case, Hekate and Anubis decided to use my accident for Their purposes.

At a Pagan gathering many years ago, I attended a Norse seidr to ask about my deceased father. As with all religious activities, I prepared by washing and dressing in my formal Roman stola and palla. Arriving at the seidr, I took the remaining chair between two groups of people. After the seidr began, I felt myself going away. The last thing that I heard was someone faintly asking about Anubis.

Coming to four hours later, I felt as if I had been run over by a fleet of dump trucks and dragged for miles. Disoriented, I asked the seidrwoman for help. She told me what had happened. First, she had a prior vision of Hekate attending the seidr. When I came in, I was Hekate come to life. During the seidr, Hekate used my body to talk to the people attending about their Dead.

Later together with the seidrwoman and the woman who had asked about Anubis, we had a private seidr. While answering the other woman’s question, the seidrwoman suddenly transformed into Anubis. After taking command of her body, He commandeered a golf cart. After ordering us in, Anubis took us on a wild ride through the camp. Riding in a golf with a God driving it will unsettle anyone. That is how I met Anubis, the Egyptian God of the Dead.

My experiences that weekend were too weird, even for me. They were things to file away under “interesting stories.” Then my freak accident happened, and almost killed me. At that time, Hekate and Anubis reintroduced Themselves to me.

During my coma and later my brain “fugues,” Hekate and Anubis roamed with me throughout the Lands of the Dead. Not alive, but not dead either, I floated between the worlds like a specter. Wandering about, I met Stellar’s Sea Cow, an extinct mammal, who guided me back to life. Along with Her, was Dire Wolf, a prehistorical mammal, who showed me his worlds of wonder, and Diplocaulus, the boomerang-headed amphibian of the early Permian, who taught me play again. With their help, I came back to the Land of the Living. Still hovering at the threshold, I was hesitant to return. Anubis whispered to me that He was the Key, The Opener of the Way (2). Before I could react to that, I was propelled through the threshold.

My work for these two Gods is now to help the newly Dead to find the map to their Land of the Dead. (Maps are needed for the Dead to follow or They get lost, wandering hopelessly about.) When I go into a fugue state, I meet the Dead then.  Also, I formed a cultus to honor extinct and prehistoric animals. (3)

As I have said, I do not believe that either Hekate or Anubis caused my accident. I do believe that They used my brain injury for Their Purposes. They had reached out of the Eternal Now introduce Themselves before I could understand what They wanted.

—–

1. This theory was first described by J.M.E. McTaggart in The Unreality of Time. 1908.

2. This came from The Anubis Oracle by Nicki Scully and Linda Star Wolf.

3. I wrote about that in Witches & Pagans #32: Polytheism, July 2016: “That Which is Remembered, Lives: Establishing a Cultus for Extinct Animals.” http://www.bbimedia.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=42_95&products_id=808&zenid=a858eba4e0e5c76f4814067c6f55ea4b

The picture of Anubis is from The Anubis Oracle, which can be purchased at Inner Traditions.

2 thoughts on “Hekate, Anubis, My Brain Injury, and Time

  1. That sounds like Tibetan Buddhist delogs, who are sort of dead and sort of not and have adventures with beings in different realms and then often come back and are able to relate it. Tulku Thondup wrote a really good back with accounts of maybe a dozen folks this happened to in history and recently. I forget the name of it but it is worthwhile to find–maybe something about ‘peaceful’? Unsure. Best wishes to you–I was in hospital a couple of days this week with brain acting up, cool Buddha visions during the MRI and MRA tests, buth then major convulsions. Sort of semi-idiot right now though–oh well!

    “Does heaven wait, all heavenly, over the next horizon?” Paddy McAloon, Prefab Sprout

    Like

Leave a Reply

